During a Japanese gameplay video, Nintendo revealed the number of story-mode stages and challenge-mode stages that would be included in Kirby and the Rainbow Curse, as well as details on Amiibo support and multiplayer.

Kirby and the Rainbow Curse will have 28 stages in its main story available, and over 40 stages in the challenge-mode. The gameplay in both of these modes will be quite similar to its predecessor, Kirby and the Canvas Curse, where the gamepad’s touchscreen will be used to draw paths for Kirby to follow. There are also multiple new abilities for Kirby, including the Kirby Submarine, Kirby Tank and Kirby Rocket. The three Kirby-themed amiibo figures previously released for Super Smash Bros. for Wii U–Kirby, King Dedede and Meta Knight–can also be used in the game, and each will have different effects on gameplay. The Kirby amiibo will give Kirby unlimited star dash power, while King Dedede will give players 6 lives instead of 4, and Meta Knight will give Kirby a mask and increase his attack power. There will also be a 4-player co-op mode, where it appears that players can control Waddle Dee who will pick up and carry Kirby throughout the stage. 

Kirby and the Rainbow Curse is the first Wii U game being released in 2015, and will hit store shelves on February 13th in North America. You can check out the game’s incredibly adorable opening trailer here.

-Andrew (Head of A7)

If you liked this article, please follow us on tumblr (adventseven) and twitter (@Advent_Seven) for all your anime, video game, and comic book news and reviews.

Andrewhabara Avatar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

%d bloggers like this: